search

World Museum Vienna: Aztecs

Play episode
Incense burner in the shape of the water and fertility goddess Chalchiuhtlicue © Museo Nacional de Antropología, Mexico City, D.R. Secretaría de Cultura - INAH; Photo: D.R. Archivo Digital de las Colecciones del Museo Nacional de Antropología, Secretaría de Cultura - INAH
Incense burner in the shape of the water and fertility goddess Chalchiuhtlicue © Museo Nacional de Antropología, Mexico City, D.R. Secretaría de Cultura - INAH; Photo: D.R. Archivo Digital de las Colecciones del Museo Nacional de Antropología, Secretaría de Cultura - INAH
Hosted by
culture guide

In 2020 the World Museum Vienna presents an exhibition on the legendary art and culture of the Aztecs (ca. 1430 - 1521 AD). The focus of this highlight exhibition is on tributes and sacrifices, which played an important role in the economic and religious life of the Aztecs. Special attention is given to the Aztec capital Tenochtitlan, which was the religious and cultural centre of the empire.

The special exhibition "Aztecs" was designed by the Linden-Museum Stuttgart in cooperation with the Nationaal Museum van Wereldculturen in the Netherlands. It took place in Stuttgart in 2019 on the occasion of the 500th anniversary of the landing of the Spanish conqueror Hernán Cortés on the coast of Mexico and is now coming to Vienna.
The Aztecs ruled a large part of Mesoamerica at the time of the Spanish conquest in the early 16th century. As a nomadic people, the Aztecs finally settled on several small islands in Lake Texcoco, where they founded the city of Tenochtitlán, today's Mexico City, in 1325.
In the 15th century, they created an empire that was surpassed within the American continent only by the Incas in Peru. The Aztecs were among the most extensively documented of all Indian civilizations in the 16th century. Visitors follow in the footsteps of Cortés: starting with the periphery of the Aztec empire and the cultural diversity of Mexico, the exhibition leads to the sacred district of the capital Tenochtitlán.
The exhibition shows more than 200 objects and loans from Mexican and European museums, including the Museo del Templo Mayor and the Museo Nacional de Antropología in Mexico City.
15 October 2020 to 13 April 2021

www.weltmuseumwien.at

Episode 60

Search
Räuchergefäß in Gestalt der Wasser- und Fruchtbarkeitsgöttin Chalchiuhtlicue © Museo Nacional de Antropología, Mexiko-Stadt, D.R. Secretaría de Cultura – INAH; Photo: D.R. Archivo Digital de las Colecciones del Museo Nacional de Antropología, Secretaría de Cultura – INAH
Räuchergefäß in Gestalt der Wasser- und Fruchtbarkeitsgöttin Chalchiuhtlicue © Museo Nacional de Antropología, Mexiko-Stadt, D.R. Secretaría de Cultura – INAH; Photo: D.R. Archivo Digital de las Colecciones del Museo Nacional de Antropología, Secretaría de Cultura – INAH
Hosted by
Cultureguide

Das Weltmuseum Wien präsentiert 2020 eine Ausstellung zur sagenumwobenen Kunst und Kultur der Azteken (ca. 1430 – 1521 n. Chr.). Im Fokus dieser Highlight-Ausstellung stehen Tribute und Opferungen, die einen wichtigen Platz im wirtschaftlichen und religiösen Leben der Azteken bildeten. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit wird der aztekischen Hauptstadt Tenochtitlan geschenkt, die als religiöses und kulturelles Zentrum des Reiches fungierte.

Die Sonderausstellung „Azteken” wurde vom Linden-Museum Stuttgart in Kooperation mit dem Nationaal Museum van Wereldculturen in den Niederlanden konzipiert. Sie fand 2019 in Stuttgart anlässlich des 500. Jahrestages der Landung des spanischen Eroberers Hernán Cortés an der Küste Mexikos statt und kommt nun nach Wien.
Die Azteken beherrschten einen großen Teil Mesoamerikas zur Zeit der spanischen Eroberung im frühen 16. Jahrhundert. Als nomadisches Volk ließen sich die Azteken schließlich auf mehreren kleinen Inseln im Texcoco-See nieder, wo sie 1325 die Stadt Tenochtitlán, das heutige Mexiko-Stadt, gründeten.
Sie schufen im 15. Jahrhundert ein Reich, das innerhalb des amerikanischen Kontinents nur von den Inkas in Peru übertroffen wurde. Die Azteken zählten zu der im 16. Jahrhundert am ausführlichsten dokumentierten aller indianischen Zivilisationen. Die Besucher begeben sich auf die Spuren von Cortés: Beginnend mit der Peripherie des aztekischen Reiches und der kulturellen Vielfalt Mexikos, führt die Ausstellung bis in den heiligen Bezirk der Hauptstadt Tenochtitlán.
Die Ausstellung zeigt mehr als 200 Objekte und Leihgaben aus mexikanischen und europäischen Museen, unter anderem aus dem Museo del Templo Mayor und dem Museo Nacional de Antropología  in Mexiko-Stadt.
15. Oktober 2020 bis 13. April 2021

www.weltmuseumwien.at

Episode 60