search

Kunsthaus Zürich: Romanticism in Switzerland & Ottilie W. Roederstein

Play episode
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Self-Portrait with Hat, 1904, oil on canvas, 55.3 x 46.1 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, photograph © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Self-Portrait with Hat, 1904, oil on canvas, 55.3 x 46.1 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, photograph © Städel Museum, Frankfurt on the Main
Hosted by
culture guide

The Kunsthaus offers attractive exhibitions of international format and one of the largest art collections in Switzerland, from the 13th century to the present day. Here are the current exhibitions:

Wild at heart. Romanticism in Switzerland
Until 14 February 2021, the Kunsthaus is entirely under the sign of Romanticism. With more than 150 works, the exhibition spans an arc from Johann Heinrich Füssli to Alexandre Calame and the early Arnold Böcklin. It shows the eminent contribution made by Swiss artists to the development of European landscape painting, follows them to academies abroad and reveals the close ties that existed between the painters. With the involvement of renowned Romantic painters from neighbouring countries such as Caspar David Friedrich, Eugène Delacroix and William Turner, this overview pays tribute to the Swiss contribution to Romanticism from an international perspective.
Towards the end of the 18th century, Romanticism unfolded in Europe. Artists began to create works that emphasized the feelings and fascination for the inexplicable over the sober and rational art of classicism. In Switzerland, people discovered the native landscape as a pictorial motif and captured the majestic mountain world and the eternal ice of the glaciers on canvases. Curator Jonas Beyer has devoted himself to this central artistic epoch of the country, which has so far only been examined in many individual aspects.
The focus on a romanticism typically Swiss in character provides a deeper insight into the interplay between site-specific influences and international networking. The special spirit of new beginnings that characterized Swiss art of this period is articulated in the lively exchange with artists from neighboring countries. The public can experience this through thematically grouped paintings, drawings and films in the 1000 square meter exhibition hall. An exhibition of this dimension was made possible by precious loans from Swiss collections and the integration of top-class works from Germany, Austria, Great Britain and France. The list of artists ranges from pre-Romantic painters of the rank of Caspar Wolf and Johann Heinrich Wüest to well-known names from the Romantic period, including the Swiss Alexandre Calame, Charles Gleyre and Léopold Robert, to international greats such as Eugène Delacroix, Caspar David Friedrich and William Turner. The fact that the romantic ideas of the late 18th and early 19th centuries resonate in the present is demonstrated by the video works "Everything is going to be alright" by Guido van der Werve, "Projection (matin)" by Remy Zaugg and "Travel" by David Claerbout.
Until February 14, 2021

Ottilie W. Roederstein
Ottilie W. Roederstein was one of the most important painters of her generation and the most important Swiss portraitist of early modernism.
The contemporary, who often represented Switzerland abroad as the only woman besides Hodler, Amiet and Giacometti, will be honoured with a retrospective at the Kunsthaus Zurich from 18 December 2020 to 5 April 2021.
Ottilie Wilhelmine Roederstein (1859-1937) was the most important Swiss painter during her lifetime. Not only in her home country, but also in Germany and France, she was highly acclaimed for her portraits and still lifes, and from 1883 onwards exhibited her paintings successfully in Paris, London, Frankfurt am Main and Chicago. In 1912 she was the only artist to represent Switzerland at the epoch-making "International Art Exhibition of the Sonderbund" in Cologne - alongside male colleagues such as Ferdinand Hodler, Giovanni Giacometti and Cuno Amiet. Despite her once international esteem, Roederstein fell into oblivion almost immediately after her death. After more than 80 years, the exhibition at the Kunsthaus Zürich, with some 70 works, is the first monographic show of her work in Switzerland to make the stylistically diverse oeuvre of the artist accessible to a broad public again.
Roederstein, who signed with the abbreviation OWR, worked specifically for the art market to earn her living as a freelance artist. She adhered to the conventions intended for female artists. This is evident at the beginning of her career through the use of a dark-toned colour palette and the choice of her pictorial subjects, the portraits and still lifes. Nevertheless, Roederstein crossed the terrain intended for women painters at an early stage, also venturing into religious pictures and nudes. Inspired by her involvement with works of the Italian and German Renaissance, she began tempera painting around 1893. This technique, which was revived throughout Europe at the end of the 19th century, was regarded as both traditional and avant-garde. In her more mature work, Roederstein increasingly opened herself to other currents and incorporated both impressio- nistic and symbolistic elements. In the 1920s she found her own objective and sober visual language. Her numerous self-portraits play an important role in her work. The exhibition, conceived by curator Sandra Gianfreda with a representative selection of paintings and drawings, follows Roederstein's most important stations in his life chronologically - Zurich, Paris, Frankfurt am Main and Hofheim am Taunus. The show is enriched by previously unpublished photographic and archive material. The Kunsthaus, which acquired works by the artist as early as the 1890s and showed them in 15 solo and group exhibitions until 1934, is represented with around a dozen works from its own collection.
18 December 2020 until 5 April 2021

www.kunsthaus.ch

Episode 13

Search

Kunsthaus Zürich: Die Romantik in der Schweiz & Ottilie W. Roederstein

Play episode
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Selbstbildnis mit Hut, 1904, Öl auf Leinwand, 55,3 x 46,1 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, Foto © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Selbstbildnis mit Hut, 1904, Öl auf Leinwand, 55,3 x 46,1 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, Foto © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
Hosted by
Cultureguide

Das Kunsthaus bietet attraktive Ausstellungen von internationalem Format und eine der grössten Kunstsammlungen der Schweiz, vom 13. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. Hier die aktuellen Ausstellungen:

Im Herzen wild. Die Romantik in der Schweiz
Bis 14. Februar 2021 steht das Kunsthaus ganz im Zeichen der Romantik. Mit über 150 Werken spannt die Ausstellung einen Bogen von Johann Heinrich Füssli über Alexandre Calame bis zum frühen Arnold Böcklin. Sie führt den eminenten Beitrag der Schweizer Künstler zur Entwicklung der europäischen Landschaftsmalerei vor Augen, folgt ihnen an die Akademien im Ausland und zeigt die enge Vernetzung auf, die zwischen den Malern bestand. Unter Einbindung namhafter Romantiker auch aus den Nachbarländern wie Caspar David Friedrich, Eugène Delacroix und William Turner würdigt dieser Überblick den Schweizer Beitrag zur Romantik in internationaler Perspektive.
Gegen Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts entfaltete sich die Romantik in Europa. Künstler begannen Werke zu schaffen, die die Gefühle und die Faszination für das Unerklärliche gegenüber der nüchternen und rationalen Kunst des Klassizismus in den Vordergrund stellten. In der Schweiz entdeckte man die heimatliche Landschaft als Bildmotiv und bannte die majestätische Bergwelt und das ewige Eis der Gletscher auf die Leinwände. Kurator Jonas Beyer widmet sich dieser bislang nur in vielen Einzelaspekten untersuchten zentralen künstlerischen Epoche des Landes.
Der Fokus auf eine Romantik typisch schweizerischer Prägung ermöglicht einen tieferen Einblick in das Wechselverhältnis von ortsspezifischer Prägung und internationaler Vernetzung. Der besondere Aufbruchsgeist, der die Schweizer Kunst dieser Zeit prägt, artikuliert sich im regen Austausch mit Künstlern aus den Nachbarländern. Das Publikum erlebt dies anhand thematisch gruppierter Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Filme im 1000 Quadratmeter grossen Ausstellungssaal. Realisieren liess sich eine Ausstellung dieser Dimension durch kostbare Leihgaben aus Schweizer Sammlungen sowie durch die Integration hochkarätiger Werke aus Deutschland, Österreich, Grossbritannien und Frankreich. Die Liste der Künstlerinnen und Künstler reicht von vorromantischen Malern vom Range eines Caspar Wolf und Johann Heinrich Wüest über bekannte Namen aus der Zeit der Romantik, darunter die Schweizer Alexandre Calame, Charles Gleyre und Léopold Robert, bis hin zu internationalen Grössen wie etwa Eugène Delacroix, Caspar David Friedrich und William Turner. Dass die romantischen Ideen des späten 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhunderts in der Gegenwart nachhallen, zeigen die Videoarbeiten „Everything is going to be alright” von Guido van der Werve, „Projection (matin)” von Remy Zaugg sowie „Travel” von David Claerbout.
Bis 14. Februar 2021

Ottilie W. Roederstein
Ottilie W. Roederstein war eine der bedeutendsten Malerinnen ihrer Generation und wichtigste Schweizer Porträtistin der frühen Moderne.
Die Zeitgenossin, die die Schweiz im Ausland oft als einzige Frau neben Hodler, Amiet und Giacometti vertrat, wird vom 18. Dezember 2020 bis 5. April 2021 im Kunsthaus Zürich mit einer Retrospektive geehrt.
Ottilie Wilhelmine Roederstein (1859–1937) war zu ihren Lebzeiten die wichtigste Schweizer Malerin. Nicht nur in ihrem Heimatland, auch in Deutschland und Frankreich fand sie grosse Anerkennung für ihre Porträts und Stillleben und stellte ab 1883 ihre Gemälde erfolgreich in Paris, London, Frankfurt am Main und Chicago aus. Als einzige Künstlerin vertrat sie 1912 die Schweiz bei der epochalen «Internationalen Kunstausstellung des Sonderbundes» in Köln – neben männ- lichen Kollegen wie Ferdinand Hodler, Giovanni Giacometti und Cuno Amiet. Trotz ihrer einst internationalen Wertschätzung ist Roederstein fast unmittelbar nach ihrem Tod in Vergessenheit geraten. Nach über 80 Jahren ist die Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Zürich mit rund 70 Werken die erste monografische Werkschau in der Schweiz, die das stilistisch vielfältige Œuvre der Künstlerin wieder einem breiten Publikum zugänglich macht.
Roederstein, die mit dem Kürzel OWR signierte, arbeitete gezielt für den Kunstmarkt, um sich ihren Lebensunterhalt als freischaffende Künstlerin zu verdienen. Sie hielt sich an die für Künstlerinnen vorgesehenen Konventionen. Dies zeigt sich zu Beginn ihrer Karriere durch den Einsatz einer dunkeltonigen Farbpalette sowie durch die Wahl ihrer Bildsujets, den Porträts und Stillleben. Trotzdem überschritt Roederstein bereits früh das für malende Frauen vor- gesehene Terrain, indem sie sich auch an religiöse Bilder und Akte heranwagte. Angeregt durch die Auseinandersetzung mit Werken der italienischen und deutschen Renaissance, begann sie um 1893 mit der Temperamalerei. Diese im ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert europaweit wiederbelebte Technik galt als tradi- tionsverbunden und avantgardistisch zugleich. In ihrem reiferen Werk öffnete Roederstein sich zunehmend anderen Strömungen und nahm sowohl impressio- nistische wie auch symbolistische Elemente auf. In den 1920er-Jahren fand sie zu der ihr eigenen sachlich-nüchternen Bildsprache. Eine grosse Rolle in ihrem Werk spielen ihre zahlreichen Selbstporträts. Die von Kuratorin Sandra Gianfreda mit einer repräsentativen Auswahl von Gemälden und Zeichnungen konzipierte Ausstellung folgt chronologisch Roedersteins wichtigsten Lebensstationen – Zürich, Paris, Frankfurt am Main und Hofheim am Taunus. Die Schau wird durch bisher unveröffentlichtes Foto- und Archivmaterial bereichert. Das Kunsthaus, welches bereits in den 1890er-Jahren Werke der Künstlerin erwarb und diese bis 1934 in 15 Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zeigte, ist mit rund einem Dutzend Werke aus eigenem Bestand vertreten.
18. Dezember 2020 bis 5. April 2021

www.kunsthaus.ch

Episode 13