search

The Sudeten German Museum: HEIMAT

Play episode
Sudeten German Museum © Sudeten German Museum
Sudeten German Museum © Sudeten German Museum
Hosted by
culture guide

1100 years of history and cultural history in the first central museum of the Sudeten Germans. 1200 square metres, 5 levels and perhaps the most beautiful view of Munich.

The Sudeten German Museum is the central museum of the German-speaking population in the Czech lands. Its permanent exhibition spans 1100 years of history, art and culture, represented in authentic objects from its collections, on an exhibition area of 1200 square metres.
Under the guiding concept of "Heimat", the Sudeten German Museum tells of the life of the Germans in Bohemia, Moravia and Sudeten Silesia, today's Czech Republic. The section "Heimat!" conveys an idea of the landscape and its inhabitants in interaction with the cultural, religious and economic world of life before 1945. Under the title "The End of the Self-Evident", the exhibition follows the political and social developments of the 19th century up to the catastrophe of war and expulsion in the 20th century. "Homeland?", now with a question mark, depicts the arduous new beginning and integration of the Sudeten Germans in the West.
For centuries, the homeland of the Sudeten Germans in Bohemia, Moravia and Sudeten Silesia was characterised by the coexistence of three peoples - the Germans, the Czechs and the Jews. The Sudeten German Museum illuminates this common homeland in its various facets. The result is a picture of an exemplary cultural landscape of pan-European significance.
The Sudeten German Museum conveys scientific results in a vivid and generally understandable way. With its modern design incorporating the use of media and its architecturally outstanding museum building, it sets accents far beyond the Bavarian capital of Munich.

Sudetendeutsches Museum
Hochstraße 10, 81669 Munich
Free admission until 31 July 2021!

www.sudetendeutsches-museum.de

Episode 84

Search

Das Sudetendeutsche Museum: HEIMAT

Play episode
Sudetendeutsches Museum © Sudetendeutsches Museum
Sudetendeutsches Museum © Sudetendeutsches Museum
Hosted by
Cultureguide

1100 Jahre Geschichte und Kulturgeschichte im ersten zentralen Museum der Sudetendeutschen. 1200 Quadratmeter, 5 Ebenen und der vielleicht schönste Blick auf München.

Das Sudetendeutsche Museum ist das zentrale Museum der deutschsprachigen Bevölkerung in den böhmischen Ländern. Seine Dauerausstellung spannt einen Bogen über 1100 Jahre Geschichte, Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte, dargestellt in authentischen Objekten aus seinen Sammlungen, auf einer Ausstellungsfläche von 1200 Quadratmetern.
Unter dem Leitbegriff „Heimat“ erzählt das Sudetendeutsche Museum vom Leben der Deutschen in Böhmen, Mähren und Sudetenschlesien, der heutigen Tschechischen Republik. Die Abteilung „Heimat!“ vermittelt eine Vorstellung der Landschaft und ihrer Bewohner im Zusammenspiel mit der kulturellen, religiösen und wirtschaftlichen Lebenswelt vor 1945. Unter dem Titel „Das Ende der Selbstverständlichkeiten“ folgt die Ausstellung den politischen und sozialen Entwicklungen des 19. Jahrhunderts bis hin zur Katastrophe von Krieg und Vertreibung im 20. Jahrhundert. „Heimat?“, nun mit Fragezeichen, schildert den mühsamen Neubeginn und die Integration der Sudetendeutschen im Westen.
Jahrhunderte lang war die Heimat der Sudetendeutschen in Böhmen, Mähren und Sudetenschlesien vom Zusammenleben dreier Völker – der Deutschen, der Tschechen und der Juden – geprägt. Das Sudetendeutsche Museum beleuchtet diese gemeinsame Heimat in ihren unterschiedlichen Facetten. Dabei entsteht das Bild einer beispielhaften Kulturlandschaft von gesamteuropäischer Bedeutung.
Das Sudetendeutsche Museum vermittelt wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse anschaulich und allgemein verständlich. Durch seine moderne, den Einsatz von Medien einbeziehende Gestaltung sowie den architektonisch herausragenden Museumsbau setzt es Akzente weit über die bayerische Landeshauptstadt München hinaus.

Sudetendeutsches Museum
Hochstraße 10, 81669 München
Freier Eintritt bis 31. Juli 2021!

www.sudetendeutsches-museum.de

Episode 84